供应商质量改进活动

Empower质量部宣布启动Empower医疗记录文件审核

Empower Healthcare Solutions正在启动其首次提供者病历文档审核。这些病历文档(MRD)审核将与Empower网络中的初级保健医师(PCP)和行为健康医师进行。  

这些审核是Empower质量改进流程不可或缺的一部分,该流程旨在改善会员的护理和治疗效果。进行审核的目的是提高提供者的医疗记录的质量,并确保提供者遵守州和联邦法规以及其他已建立的标准,例如《 Empower提供商手册》。 [注意:这些MRD审核将不会检查所提供服务的医疗必要性。]

医疗记录文件审核清单

已为PCP记录制定了一个审核清单,将用于审核成员记录中的文档,并为行为健康医师记录制定了一个不同的清单。 

清单是根据以下标准确定的:

  • Empower医疗保健解决方案提供商手册;
  • 阿肯色州DHS手册;
  • 联邦和州的要求(例如HIPAA和CMS标准;阿肯色州的《儿童和成人虐待法》);
  • NCQA标准,最佳临床实践和授权临床实践指南;和
  • 国家认可标准。

成员的病历中已确定医师具有医疗责任的所有文档都可以作为审核的一部分进行审核。例如,如果所选的行为健康医师在门诊行为健康计划中提供服务,因此对成员的所有行为医疗均负有医疗责任,则应审查提供给成员的所有服务的文件(而不仅仅是医生的文件) 。

查看病历文档审核–行为健康医师检查表 点击这里.

查看病历文档审核–基层医疗医生清单 点击这里.

修订的病历文档审核时间表

在12月中旬,通过随机抽样选择的提供者将收到通知信,告知他们已被选择参加MRD审核。这封信将包括

  • 适用的MRD审核清单的副本(基于提供者类型)将被使用
  • MRD审核流程的说明
  • 有关记录提交的信息。 

在寄送通知书后的一周内,Empower将与这些提供商联系,以获得负责向Empower提供所需记录的工作人员的联系信息,以及提供商计划用来提交的方法记录。  

在2021年1月开始,提供商将收到五(5)名成员的名单,这些成员的记录将受到审核,并列出所需文件。要求的记录必须在十四(14)个日历日内提交给Empower。

提供者可以使用以下几种方法来提交或授予对记录的访问权:

  • 安全的电子邮件
  • 直接访问已确定成员的提供者的电子病历
  • 传真
  • “安全文件传输协议”选项,该选项将允许提供者将记录上传到安全服务器(尚不可用,但预计在12月可用)。

审核完成后,将向已审核其记录的每个提供商提供反馈。各个提供商审核的结果将不会发布。 Empower将汇总所有记录审核的结果,并审查调查结果的数据分析,以识别提高质量的关键流程。

查看病历文件审核的时间表 点击这里.

观看Empower网站以获取有关病历文档审核的更新! 

COVID-19和其他传染病:潜在的护理质量对授权提供者的政策和实践的审查

质量管理部门正在对Empower提供商关于COVID-19和其他传染病的政策和做法进行潜在的护理质量(QOC)审查。此审查是Empower质量改进过程的一部分,该过程旨在改善成员的护理和治疗效果。授权员工和提供者有责任确保已加入阿肯色医疗补助计划的个人的健康和安全,并审查使会员的健康和安全处于危险中的担忧。

由于COVID-19大流行,Empower知道我们的会员有感染该疾病的风险,因为我们看到诊断为COVID-19的会员人数有所增加。与任何传染病一样,我们的会员也受到许多因素的威胁,其中包括居住在团体房屋和设施中以及从其所接受服务的会员所在的房屋和设施进出的人员。 

通过提高意识和风险,Empower希望确保提供商具有以下优势:

  • 在对提供者的工作人员或成员进行明确识别时,防止COVID-19(和其他传染病)传播的政策,程序,协议和缓解计划 
  • 不建议当面对面接触时确保会员继续接受治疗服务的政策,程序和计划。

为了 最初的 在此潜在的QOC审核阶段,Empower正在发送信函,要求相关政策,程序和计划,以期 精神科住院治疗设施中级护理设施。这些信件将提供要求提供者提交给Empower的信息的详细信息。

Empower感谢我们的提供者为确保会员和您员工的健康与安全所做的工作和付出的努力!谢谢!

Providers Quality Improvement Activities

Empower Quality Department Announces Launch of Empower Medical Record Documentation Audits

Empower Healthcare Solutions is in the process of launching its first Provider Medical Record Documentation Audits.  These Medical Record Documentation (MRD) Audits will be conducted with Primary Care Physicians (PCPs) and Behavioral Health Physicians in the Empower network.  

These audits are an integral part of Empower’s Quality Improvement process, which seeks to improve member care and treatment outcomes.  The audits are conducted with the intent of improving the quality of providers’ medical recordkeeping and assuring that providers comply with state and federal regulations and other established standards, such as the Empower Provider Manual.  [Note: These MRD audits will not review for the medical necessity of services provided.]

Checklists for Medical Record Documentation Audits

An audit checklist that will be utilized for review of the documentation in the member records has been developed for the PCP records and a different checklist for the Behavioral Health Physician records. 

The Checklists were developed utilizing standards identified in:

  • Manual for Empower Healthcare Solutions Providers;
  • Arkansas DHS Manuals;
  • Federal and state requirements (such as HIPAA and CMS standards; Arkansas Child and Adult Maltreatment Acts);
  • NCQA standards, best clinical practices, and Empower Clinical Practice Guidelines; and
  • National Accreditation standards.

All documentation in the member’s medical record for which the identified physician has medical responsibility may be reviewed as part of the audit.  For example, if the selected Behavioral Health Physician provides services in an outpatient behavioral health program and is, therefore, medically responsible for all of the member’s behavioral healthcare, documentation of all services provided to the member are subject to review (not just the physician’s).

To see the Medical Record Documentation Audit – Behavioral Health Physicians Checklist click here.

To see the Medical Record Documentation Audit – Primary Care Physician Checklist click here.

Revised Medical Record Documentation Audit Timeline

In mid-December, providers who have been selected via a random sampling will receive a Notification Letter telling them that they have been selected to participate in the MRD Audit.  The letter will include

  • a copy of the applicable MRD Audit Checklist (based upon provider type) that will be utilized
  • an explanation of the MRD Audit process
  • information regarding record submission. 

In the week following the mailing of the Notification Letters, Empower will reach out to those providers in order to obtain the contact information for the staff persons who will be responsible for providing requested records to Empower and the method that the provider plans to use to submit records.  

At the beginning of January 2021, providers will receive a list of five (5) members whose records will be audited and a list of the requested documentation.  Requested records must be submitted to Empower within fourteen (14) calendar days.

Providers may submit or give access to records utilizing several methods:

  • secure email
  • direct access to the provider’s electronic medical records for the identified members
  • fax
  • Secure File Transfer Protocol option, which will allow providers to upload records to a secure server (not yet available, but expected to be available by December).

When the audits are completed, feedback will be given to each provider whose records have been reviewed.  Results from individual provider audits will not be published.  Empower will aggregate the results of all record audits and review the data analysis of findings to identify key processes for quality improvement.

To see the Timeframes for Medical Record Documentation Audits click here.

Watch the Empower website for updates on the Medical Record Documentation Audits! 

COVID-19 and Other Communicable Diseases: Potential Quality of Care Review of Empower Provider Policies and Practices

The Quality Management Department is launching a Potential Quality of Care (QOC) review of Empower providers’ policies and practices relative to COVID-19 and other communicable diseases.  This review is a part of Empower’s Quality Improvement process, which seeks to improve member care and treatment outcomes.  Empower Staff and Providers have the responsibility to ensure the health and safety of individuals who are enrolled in the Arkansas Medicaid PASSE program and review concerns that place the health and safety of members at risk.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, Empower understands that our members are at risk of contracting the disease, as we have seen increasing numbers of our members with diagnoses of COVID-19.  As with any communicable disease, our members are placed at risk by many factors, some of which include residing in group homes and facilities and staff coming and going from members’ homes and facilities in which they are receiving services. 

With this heightened awareness and risk, Empower wants to insure that providers have:

  • Policies, procedures, protocols, and mitigation plans to prevent the spread of COVID-19 (and other communicable diseases) when there is a positive identification of provider staff or members 
  • Policies, procedures, and plans to insure the continuation of treatment services for members when face-to-face contact is not recommended.

For the initial phase of this potential QOC review, Empower is sending letters requesting related policies, procedures, and plans to Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities and Intermediate Care Facilities.  The letters will provide the details of the information that providers are asked to submit to Empower.

Empower appreciates the work and efforts made by our providers to ensure the health and safety of our members and your staff! Thank you!